PC Advice

A place to talk about... anything!
Tigermilk
Kitten

PC Advice

Post by Tigermilk »

I'm currently studying in Japan but heading home in a month and looking to buy my first desktop. I've been working a few jobs here in Japan to save up some money and I'm looking to spend from $1,000 to $1,500.

I don't know that much about computers and I just recently restarted playing FFXI on PC (a year ago I was playing on PS2 but had to stop when I moved to Japan). Does anyone have any advice for what kind of computer is best? As of now I'm using a friend's laptop to play that care barely run the game...

I am planning to use the computer primarily for organizing school-work and work-related stuff and I'll of course want to play FFXI. As far as other games go I'm not interested in buying any high-end demanding games, chances are in the next year or two the only games I'll be buying is Sims 2 and the new Myst game.

I have installed RAM before but nothing like a video card or anything else, but I hear it's getting easier and easier to do these kinds of things. If anyone has any good advice or a heads up on some good deals please let me know!

Thanks!

:)
JediKitsune
Mad Cat

Post by JediKitsune »

If you can find a computer hardware store, a good one that builds computers, you can ask them to help you in making a good system for as cheap or as expensive as you want it.

Sure, you could buy something like... a new Dell or HP or something similar, but custom-built PCs are usually more upgradable than those. My old HP, for example, used mostly proprietary parts, meaning only stuff from the maker of the computer would work in it for a lot of stuff save any RAM or PCI devices.

You don't need a screaming fast machine to play FFXI, but a newer one is definitely needed for playing it smoothly.