Experinces in Promy

A place to talk about... anything!
Eviticus
'Insignificant Adventurer'

Experinces in Promy

Post by Eviticus »

Having just done my first Promyvion run, I'd like to share a few things I learned. A couple things that had I known in advance, would have saved me a bit of gil and let me be a bit more effective.

First, the run to the spire. I hope you're good at Metal Gear Solid or other such games, because with swarms of IT++ aggro by true sight monsters that -love- to link on your ass, you're gonna have to to alot of stealth dashing about. Behold us mighty adventurers, sneaking around....yeah...

As a Blm, I went all out. I've never done a Promy before, and had only a vauge idea of what to bring. First off, snag a Reraiser or reraise earring or whatever. Perhaps both for good measure. 3k gil for a reraiser? {Yes, please.} Cheap insurance policy that saved our entire run.

Yagudo Drinks: Yes
Melon Pies: Yes
Echo Drops: Yes
Ethers: Only if you're richer then the Archduke himself. I popped a 13k Hi-Ether, not knowing it's effect. Got something like 50 or 60 mp.....wtf? I popped off a Stone II from that Hi-ether and did 36 damge, mostly resisted. Not worth it if you're on any kind of budget. Yag drinks are way cheaper and the same effectiveness over time.

Mama, don't let your kittens grow up to be Blm. The setup was War/nin, Nin/war, Whm, Blm, Sam, Rng. Being the almight Blm who has 700k in gear, I was fairly confident of my ability to nuke some critters. Sad thing is with very high INT and capped {Elemental Magic}, Empty mobs -love- to resist your nukes down to 10% damage. Fire after Fire doing 30 damage, with the occasional 60, was making me cry. The Nin was out-damaging me if you counter her WS's.